Skip to content Skip to footer

Principal Residency Program Laureates for 2023 at La Becque Artist Residency

January 1–December 31, 2023

La Becque Artist Residency is pleased to announces its Principal Residency Program laureates for 2023.

Our judges chose fourteen new residence projects from among more than 320 submissions to be included in La Becque’s Principal Residency Program and auxiliary Satellite Residency Program the following year (which allows laureates to spend several shorter work sessions at La Becque throughout the year and across all residency trimesters). The relationships between nature, the environment, and technology as seen through the lens of the arts were the guiding themes behind all residency programs at La Becque, and the proposals developing original takes on these themes were the basis for choosing the artists, writers, and projects that were ultimately chosen.

We are looking forward to welcoming the following artists in 2023: Ellen Arkbro and Marcus Pal (Sweden), Ericka Beckman (US), Madison Bycroft (Australia), Janiva Ellis (US) and Hamishi Farah (Australia), Florian Hecker (Germany), Ife Day (Haiti/France), Nicole L’Huillier (Chile), Okkyung Lee (South Korea), Hanne Lippard (Norway), Jelena (Jelly) Luise (Germany/Republic of Serbia) and Sanja Grozdanić (Australia/Bosnia), Zinzi Minott (UK), and Davi Pontes (Brazil) will participate in the Principal Residency Program, and are joined by Quinn Latimer (US) and Natasha Tontey (Indonesia) who will operate in satellite residency mode.

The transdisciplinary Jury of experts selecting 2023 residents was composed of percussionist and composer Alexandre Babel , François J. Bonnet (composer and director, INA GRM Paris), Jean-Paul Felley (curator and director of EDHEA – the Valais School of Arts), Stefanie Hessler (curator, writer and director, Swiss Institute New York), Sabine Himmelsbach (director, HEK—House of Electronic Arts, Basel), artist and curator Deborah-Joyce Holman, Elise Lammer (curator and art critic, Institut Kunst HGK FHNW, HEAD—Genève, SALTS Basel), visual artist Mai-Thu Perret, Patrick de Rham (director, Arsenic Lausanne), and Stefano Stoll (director, Images Vevey), joined by Fondation Françoise Siegfried-Meier trustee Anne-Catherine de Perrot and La Becque director Luc Meier.

Please visit our website to learn more about these artists and collectives in brief bios and to get a sneak peek at the projects they will be working on while at La Becque. New participants in our ongoing partnership residency programs with the Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia, ECAL/University of Art and Design Lausanne, and EDHEA—the Valais School of Art will join them in 2023 at La Becque. Additional partnerships and a large number of visitors will also be announced later.

The public activities at La Becque will also include an interesting schedule of events, including plays, conferences, concerts, and exhibitions that will be held both on-site and in association with other institutions. It will continue a 2022 schedule that includes a variety of experimental music performances and a rekindled partnership with Festival Images in Vevey (September 3–25). For this event, La Becque suggests installations and screenings by two of its former residents, Denise Bertschi (Switzerland) and Andrew Norman Wilson (US).

La Becque Artist Residency
Chemin de la Becque 1
CH-1814 La Tour-de-Peilz

[email protected]
Instagram / Facebook